33 Gods in Vedic scriptures

33 gods according to RigVeda

33 Gods in Vedic scriptures: In Hinduism, the Gods (e.g. Baruna, Agni, Bayu) govern natural elements such as water, fire, wind, and so on. They declare themselves under the great degree of God. They are not the same and not equal to God Almighty, but rather the manifestation of God (Brahman) itself. Each goddess god has its own function and role.

Functions and roles of Gods

The Vedic books state that the Gods cannot move freely without God’s will. The Gods also cannot bestow something without God’s will. The Gods, like any other living being, depend on God’s will.

In the scriptures Bhagawad Gita it is explained that just worshiping Gods is not good worshiper behavior, should the worshipers of the Gods not forget the Lord who bestowed the real blessing. The Gods are just god’s intermediaries. God Almighty through the intermediary of Sri Krishna said:

sa tayā śraddhayā yuktastasyārādhanam
ca tatah kamanmayaiva
vihitān hi tān
(Bhagavad Gītā, 7.22)

“After being given the trust, they tried to worship a certain God and obtain what he wanted. But I am the only one who bestows these blessings.”

See: Truth 1 God according to the Vedas to be known

In common Hindu traditions such as Advaita Vedanta and Hindu Dharma, Gods are seen as manifestations of Brahman and are reluctant to be revered as their own God and the Gods are equal to other Gods. But in the Hindu philosophy of Dvaita, certain Gods have certain sects that worship him as the supreme God. In this case, some sects had monotheism towards a particular God.

33 gods

The duty of the Gods

From his saguna brahman (tangible) nature, he made himself a variety of divine beings in the form of gods. The word Deva comes from the word div, which means “ray’, the holy ray of God / mahkluk light or with language more easily can be called by the term angel.

Hindus know various names of gods. In the Vedas there are many deities mentioned but it is said that there are 33 gods. The gods have their own duties and functions.

“God Almighty, You are a great teacher, full of wisdom, bestowing gifts upon those who shine brilliantly, may the seekers of spiritual knowledge, know the secrets of the 33 gods.”

Furthermore, the 33 gods are distinguished according to their respective places and duties as stated in Rgveda.I. 139.11 which reads:

“O gods (33 gods): 11 in heaven, 11 on earth, 11 in heaven, may you rejoice in this sacred offering.”

In the Brahmin Satapatha, XIV.5 is mentioned:

“Surely he says: is a great and powerful force of 33 gods. Who is the god? They are 8 Vasu, 11 Rudra, 12 aditya. The total number of 31, (later added) Indra and Prajapati, all became 33 gods”

Of each of the duties and functions of the gods in heaven, on earth and in the sky one of them is the manifestation of God, in other words God as the leader. As mentioned in the Bhagavad Gita

“Among all rudra I am Sankara (Shiva),..” (Bhagavad-gita 10.23), … among my vasu is Fire (Agni)” (Bhagavad-gita 10.23). In his development Agni was likened to Brahma. “Among the Adityas I am Visnu..” (Bhagavad-gita 10.21) –Ketut Merta Mupu